December 9, 2013

Basic Academy 191 Graduates:
Recruit Nicholas Jones Receives James B. Evans Award

The 191st Basic Peace Officer Training Academy graduated on Nov. 21 at a ceremony held at The Grove Community Church in Riverside. Hundreds of friends and family packed the auditorium to share with their loved ones this milestone in their careers and lives.

Ben Clark Public Safety Training Center Academy Director Captain James McElvain welcomed the recruits, who entered amid the fanfare of marching bagpipers and a color guard. Basic Academy Coordinator Sergeant Tony Hoxmeier offered words of congratulations, and Riverside County Sheriff Stan Sniff delivered the Keynote Address, welcoming the new recruits to the law enforcement profession.

Deputy Nicholas Jones (RSO) received several awards that day. As Class President, a position elected to him by his peers, he delivered the class speech. Deputy Jones also received the Top Academic Award, Top Scenario Testing, Top Overall Recruit, and the James B. Evans Award.

The James B. Evans award was delivered by RSA President Robert Masson and RSA Executive Board Secretary Pete Kurylowicz. The award, established and administered by the RSA, is named in honor of Deputy James Evans who died during the 1980 Norco Bank robbery. It is given to a graduate who has aspirations toward higher education and includes a monetary scholarship to help make those dreams a reality.

Other awards went to:

• Deputy Robert Roach (RSO) for Top Physical Fitness.

• Officer Eddie Vazquez (Riverside PD) and Deputy Danny Na (Moreno Valley College) for Top Report Writing.

• Deputy Michael Scott II (RSO) for “Top Gun” in Firearms.

• Officer Aaron Nastase (Claremont PD) for the CADA Award.